for clarinet, harp and string quartet (2022)

Score and Parts

by Osnat Netzer


SKU: ON-CM024 Category: Tags: , , , , ,


Perusal Score


Osnat Netzer: Datsuzoku, I. "Rock Garden"


18 min


May 13, 2023
Shadyside Presbyterian Church
Pittsburgh, PA

Kassia Ensemble:
Dawn Posey and Ashley Freeburn, violins
Si Yu, viola
Katya Janpoladyan, cello
Rachael Stutzman Cohen, clarinet
Nuiko Wadden, harp,
Emily Tarantino, conductor


Kassia Ensemble


clarinet, harp, string quartet

Program Notes

Datsuzoku is one of the seven aesthetic principles of zen. It represents freedom from habit or formula. Each one of the movements is either the representation of a garden, or the relationship between human to garden.
1. Rock Garden
2. Butterfly Garden
3. Aviary
4. Traversing
5. The All-Garden

While the first three movements represent the garden as a space, location, natural and cultivated entity, the fourth movement (Traversing) represents the human traveling through the garden, and eventually, plants and living organisms become integrated in the fifth movement (the All-Garden).

–Osnat Netzer