for string trio (1997)

Score and Parts

by Todd Tarantino


SKU: TT-CM018 Category: Tags: , ,


Perusal Score



4 min.


30 March 2005
Merkin Concert Hall
New York, New York

David Fulmer, violin; Maiya Paipach, viola; Joanne Lin, cello


violin, viola, cello

Program Notes

Cantiga was composed in 1997 as the central movement of a string trio, the remaining movements of which have been withdrawn. It takes the form of a slow, lyrical meditation on a mis-remembered, if not entirely fabricated, fragment of Galician folk poetry:

A onde irá meu Romero
A onde irá meu Romero
Chegará a Compostela
A ver Santo Apostol

(Where will my wanderer go? He will arrive at Compostela and see the blessed apostle.)

Cantiga may be performed alone or as part of the Cancionero Anónimo, a loose grouping of fragments, sketches, studies, and completed works that together document a life.