for viola and piano (2008)

Score and Parts

by Andrea Clearfield


SKU: AC-CM028 Categories: , Tags: ,



Andrea Clearfield: Convergence, for viola and piano (2008)
Matthew Cohen, viola
Jun Cho, piano


11 min


May 23, 2012 (World Premiere)
Barbara Westphal, viola
Christian Ruvolo, piano
St. Petri Church, Luebeck, Germany

June 20, 2014 (US Premiere)
Michael Hall, viola
Robert Pherigo, piano
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City, MO


Commissioned by Barbara Westphal


viola, piano

Program Notes

Convergence was commissioned by and dedicated to Barbara Westphal, my esteemed colleague and acclaimed violist. We spent many summers together at the Sarasota Music Festival. The work is built on the intervallic, melodic and harmonic materials heard in the opening two measures. These elements return in variation throughout the work; aggressive, lyrical, energetic and evocative. The viola and piano are equal partners, engaging in dialogue with these musical materials. Through the process of their dynamic exchange, their expressions converge and transform into a new synthesis. Convergence was released on Bridge Records in February, 2015, Barbara Westphal, viola, Christian Ruvolo, piano.

–Andrea Clearfield