A Reminiscence Sing

for soprano, clarinet, and piano (2009, arr. 2010)

Score and Parts

by Andrea Clearfield


SKU: AC-VC003 Categories: , Tags: , ,


Perusal Score


Soprano Sasha Leinster, clarinetist Joseph Rosen, and pianist Miriam Brickman premiere composer Andrea Clearfield's arrangement for soprano, clarinet and piano of her 2009 work A REMINISCENCE SING, set to a text by American poet Walt Whitman. The performance took place at Douglas Townsend's Social Networking Concert on April 26, 2011, at Saint Peter's Church in Manhattan. Shot and edited by Dan Simon Filmmaker. Sound engineered by Eric Somers, Sandbook Studio.


8 min


soprano, clarinet, piano


Walt Whitman : A Reminiscence Sing

Program Notes

Notes for the original version for soprano, oboe, and string quintet:

It was an honor to have been asked to write this piece in celebration of Maestro James Freeman’s 70th birthday. After requesting some of Jim’s favorite texts, I fell immediately in love with “Out of the Cradle Endlessly Rocking” by Walt Whitman. Truly a marvel of poetic language, it is a coming of age of the artist, cradled by the timeless waves of the ocean; a young boy’s journey to comprehending the mysteries of life, love and death. The setting (to an excerpt from the poem) is simple, with a recurring lilting rhythm reminiscent of slowly undulating waves, a heartbeat or ticking of a clock. The lyrical melodies and arching form evolved from the elegant music inherent in the poem itself.

– Andrea Clearfield

You may also like…